AZ Constitutional Carry Passes

From the AzCDL:

YOU did it!? Today, April 16, 2010, Governor Brewer signed SB 1108, the AzCDL-requested Constitutional Carry bill, into law.? Arizona now becomes the third state to not require written permission from the government for law-abiding citizens to exercise their right to bear arms discretely.? Because Arizona is the first state in the U.S. with a large urban population to take this significant step, this is a watershed moment for the entire country.
[…]
If you don’t have a permit, don’t start carrying concealed just yet.? The law won’t become effective until 90 days after “Sine Die” when the Legislature officially adjourns.? Since they are still working through a slew of bills, we don’t expect Sine Die anytime soon.? In past years, the effective date of bills has been around September.
CCW permits still have a purpose.? You’ll need one to streamline gun purchases, to carry in states that honor Arizona permits and for carrying concealed in establishments that serve alcohol.? And, the training you receive to obtain a permit is an added bonus.? Along with restoring your right to bear arms, SB 1108 added additional training opportunities for obtaining a permit.? NRA classes and training from places like Front Sight and Gunsite will be able to qualify as permit training.
If you decide not to obtain a CCW permit, that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t train.? The heaviest thing about wearing a firearm is the responsibility that comes with it.? Take that money that you save on permit and renewal fees and spend it on quality training as often as you can.? Lead by example ? the world is watching.

Outstanding news.

8 thoughts on “AZ Constitutional Carry Passes”

  1. Allow me to pre-quote the opposition:
    “there will be blood in the streets”
    “people will be waving guns everywhere”
    and never forget…
    “WHAT ABOUT THE CHILDREN?”

  2. Richard: Indeed. Of course, they’ve been saying that for years.
    One benefit of doing it here in Arizona is that we already have open carry, so not much should really change by simply allowing people to untuck their shirts when carrying.

  3. This also means that someone who is 18 can CC too… I think.
    IIRC you need to be 21 to get a CCW permit. You need to be 21 to buy a handgun form a store. But you can own a handgun at 18 iirc.
    Interesting side affect…. If I am right…

  4. Richard: Hasn’t that been the case with open carry as well? A person <21 years old could open carry, right?
    I also didn't think there was a minimum age for gun ownership, just gun purchasing.

  5. Typical sloppy (deliberate?) reporting from the Red Star. Or simple proof that they can’t read (LAW IS HARD!!!).
    Unfortunately, people who are under the age of 21 will still be limited to open carry — so long as part of the handgun or holster remains visible then they’re fine.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *